The @IndSuperLeague is here

Sunday, 12 October 2014

We’re looking forward to 8 teams, 212 players, 61 matches and 10 weeks of football action in the Indian Super League (@IndSuperLeague) which kicked off earlier today with Atletico De Kolkata (@atletidekolkata) hosting and beating Mumbai City FC (@MumbaiCityFC) with a 3-0 win. Meanwhile, fans, players, teams and the new league have been using Twitter for public conversations in the lead up to the start of the inaugural season.

Follow @IndSuperLeague and join the conversation with the players, teams and the new league!

ISL calendar (#ISLCal)

Wondering about the schedule? Simply tweet to @IndSuperLeague with #ISLCal and you can save the details of the schedule for the entire ISL season. @calreply made this happen and here’s an example of how it works:

Team Twitter battle (#LetsFootball)

The Indian Super League also encouraged fans to use Twitter to cheer for their team on the day of launch, using the mentions to create a Twitter Leaderboard data visualization on the official website:

Most-followed footballers and teams

You can stay connected to a collection of voices from the league by subscribing to this Indian Super League Twitter list which includes the accounts of the league, the eight teams, marquee players and the broadcaster @starsportsindia.

The Twitter accounts of the marquee player from each of the eight teams are listed below and ranked in descending order by number of followers on Twitter as of today:

  1. Alessandro Del Piero: @delpieroale (Delhi Dynamos)
  2. Elano Blumer: @elano_blumer (Chennaiyin FC)
  3. Robert Pires: @piresrobert7 (FC Goa)
  4. Joan Capdevila: @capde11 (NorthEast United FC)
  5. Luis Garcia: @luchogarcia14 (Atletico De Kolkata)
  6. David Trezeguet: @trezegoldavid (FC Pune City)
  7. David James: @jamosfoundation (Kerala Blasters)
  8. Frederik Ljungberg: @freddie (Mumbai City FC)

In addition, you can follow your team of choice below. The list represents the Twitter leaderboard amongst the eight teams ranked by number of followers on Twitter as of today:

  1. Delhi Dynamos (@DelhiDynamos)
  2. Atletico De Kolkata (@AtletiDeKolkata)
  3. Chennaiyin FC (@ChennaiyinFC)
  4. Mumbai City FC (@MumbaiCityFC)
  5. Kerala Blasters (@KBFCOfficial)
  6. FC Goa (@FCGoaOfficial)
  7. North East United FC (@NEUtdFC)
  8. Pune City FC (@FCPuneCity)

Here’s to an entertaining season of football. Catch up soon!